My kids are really too old for the Elf on the Shelf. We only got him last year, and my youngest (twins) were already 10 at the time.
At first, I resisted. Then one of them sent a sealed note to santa:
  Game, set and match, kid!

We got an Elf on the Shelf (in something of a paradox, the elf is a spy for Santa and thus serves as an incentive to be good to get the very presents my kid gave up to get the elf. But yeah, she got her Christmas presents too. I said game, set AND match, didn’t I).

My foray into this tradition went down in stages, like this:

1. Insta-ready elf:

ThisOver at  http://rockingmy365project.com, I saw this:

elf11

I never made elf donuts from Cheerios, but I did set up a tableau or two.

2. Dead-of-night repositioned elf:

Creativity took a dive, and I swear I ran into the tooth fairy a few times.

IMG_9385

3. Detective elf: Kids try to solve the pattern of when the elf moves. Every third night? Every Fourth night? Only when he really needs to tell Santa how bad they are?

4. Elaborate back story elf: He needs surgery because of that blob of goop stuck to his tummy. The one that a certain kid used to try to adhere a dress to the elf without touching him directly, which is against the rules. And he has some gender identity issues. This all makes him lethargic and immobile.

 

5. Excuse note elf

It’s weird how similar the sentence structure is to the one mom uses in a note to the teacher. Also, very similar handwriting to the tooth fairy now that you mention it . . .

This has been popping up on my social media feeds, and I think it’s not only genius, but maybe something that could happen to our elf.

11221822_858767257576098_5692010966217748942_n

I found this on the Facebook page of Mama without a Filter.

