Tags

, , ,

IMG_0841I love this dish – delicious and easy.  I originally got the recipe from 365 Easy Italian Recipes by Rick Marzullo O’Connell.  I don’t think it is in print anymore, unfortunately.

Put the water on to boil and cook pasta to al dente (don’t forget to add salt to the water!). I like to use Campanelle but any tube pasta will do

Meanwhile, melt half a stick butter (4 tablespoons) in a Dutch oven. Then add 1 and a half cups heavy cream. Heat over medium heat until boiling and then cook for about 3 or 4 minutes. Make sure you don’t let the cream boil over (I have done that and it’s not pretty).  Basically, you want the sauce to thicken.  Then add 8 ounces chopped prosciutto. If wanted, add about a cup or so peas.  I defrost some frozen peas and add them into til it looks about right for me.  When the pasta is ready, drain and add the pasta to cream sauce. Stir to coat. Stir in about a ½ cup grated Parmesan. Enjoy immediately.  Serves about 4 or 5 people.

This is not the greatest leftover.  It still tastes good but the cream tends to separate out.  So just eat it all in one sitting and you won’t be sorry!

