Tags

, , ,

laundromat

Recently, I have been yearning to go to a laundromat.  I know, I know, it’s weird.  Who would want to drag 5 laundry baskets full of dirty laundry to a public place where you have to put your clothes into a machine that hundreds thousands of people have used before?

Before I had my own washer and dryer in the basement, I would take all my laundry to the local laundromat on Sunday. I could use as many washers as I wanted and it gave me about an hour and half to just sit and read the paper or a book and people-watch.  Laundromats have quite a cross section of Americana in them!

Well, isn’t there something nice about being able to have ALL your laundry done at the same time? It’s basically the same reason that I get cleaners to come to my house once a month.  Left up to me there is no way the WHOLE house would be clean at the same time (who are we kidding, there is no way that both bathrooms get clean at the same time).  Because you know that try as you might, even when you say to  yourself and the world, that “Tuesday is laundry day” it never all gets done. You get distracted or interrupted by some other household crises or you don’t quite get around to doing that last load of towels.

Plus, they have those cute little baskets on wheels to move your laundry around!

