Tags

, , , , , ,

Now I am sure you have read many articles, lists and hints about the various uses of baking soda. I am not going to give you a list of “25 Ways to Use Baking Soda”.  However, I am here to tell you three very specific ways I used baking soda (and vinegar) that were lifesavers for me.  I probably had read some of those articles so when faced with three dastardly, seemingly unsolvable problems, I turned to my old pal baking soda.

1) Stink Solver – For some reason our upstairs sink gets a funky smell to it. It doesn’t quite get clogged but I think maybe the pipes get stuff stuck in them. So every once in a while I pour at least a half cup of baking soda and a cup of white vinegar down the drain. It seems to  clear the pipes out, erasing the smell and the keeping the drain running smoothly. It’s nice because not only is it cheap it does not leave the potential of a toxic substance residue in the drain.

009

2) Stuck on Food Cleaner – Non-stick pans are great except when things get stuck on them.  You can’t really scrub them with a SOS pad or harsh scrubby but occasionally they do get some stuck-on food.  Recently, My husband had made some yummy hammy cheese roll-ups (Honey Baked ham, cheese, and crescent rolls) and the result was a baking sheet that was essentially unusable.  So I put the pan in the sink and sprinkled on a layer of baking soda topped with white vinegar and let it sit for a few hours.  Afterwards, I was able to clean off the baked on crud with just a sponge.

3) Paint Remover – This really was the clincher in realizing how great baking soda is.  Earlier this fall, I had a handyman paint my son’s bedroom.  Unbeknownst to me, this also included painting over the latch on the door to our attic where we keep the Christmas decorations so when I went to get it all out I realized it was painted over.  After a lot of cursing and grumbling, I fiddled with it and tried to use an old knife to try to chip away at the paint to no avail. When I turned to the internet for some advice, all the remedies were only for fixtures that were not still attached to a door (basically boiling them in water).  So I got the idea to make a paste of baking soda and water and sticking it on the latch.  I left it on there for a few hours and when I scraped off the paste, I was able to jiggle the latch a few times and, voila! It worked! Christmas was saved! I guess it was able to soften the paint enough so I could get it open.

The moral of this story is that baking soda is not just for baking!

Do you have any clever uses for baking soda? Let us know!

