Tags

, , , , , ,

So I was looking around for some easy Thanksgiving “tablescape” ideas (yes, I know the Sandra Lee lingo) and I came across this Martha Stewart website:

http://thecraftsdept.marthastewart.com/2009/11/last-minute-thanksgiving-crafts.html

Looking through the site, I am amused to discover that Martha Stewart and her editors were considerate enough to provide me with some last minute ideas.  It is important to note that the key phrase here is “last minute”.  It is also amusing to note that they think I have the following items around the house:

Gold Spray Paint

Inkjet transfer paper

Assorted  gray baskets

Turnips

And when I say amused I mean: Are you freakin’ kidding me?

I could go on but I think you get the picture. So I decided to forget about decorations and think about a nice festive drink.  I thought that a pomegranate drink would be nice (I actually had some leftover pomegranate juice).  I found the following recipe in Food Network Magazine:

Holiday Pom- Pom: Combine two tablespoons each Lillet and pomegranate juice and 1 tablespoon pomegranate seeds in each glass. Top with sparkling rosé. Garnish with a mint leaf.

What is Lillet you ask? – I didn’t know either and since I knew I didn’t have it I searched for a substitute for Lillet. You know what they said? Cocchi Americano or Dubonnet is a good replacement for Lillet –  Really? REALLY? Is it reasonable to think that if I do not have Lillet I will somehow have those drink items?

So here’s what I came up with:021

There is nothing wrong with a bowl of clementines and a nice Pomegranate Martini (my own recipe – equal parts vodka and juice).  I threw in the candles I usually use for Christmas just to make it a bit more festive.

